La Retraite Roman Catholic Girls' School

Governing Board

Governors' List and Duties

The Governing Board will ensure clarity of vision, ethos, and strategic direction, and receive reports from the Committees.

Committees for the academic year 2022-23 are:

  • Financial Monitoring (Chair of Committee - Mrs Bronwen Gray) - responsible for overseeing the financial performance of the school, including staffing structures & costs, policies, premises-related issues and health & safety;
  • Curriculum Monitoring (Chair of Committee - Ms Camilla Aspinall) - responsible for monitoring the educational performance of the school and its students;
  • Admissions (Chair of Committee - Ms Sue Woodman) - will focus on admission arrangements, and will be consulted on promotion and marketing;
  • Pay - will deal with issues relating to the pay of individual staff;
  • Headteacher's Performance - will carry out the Headteacher's performance review.

Committee Meetings:

  • The Full Governing Board will meet five times this year (including one Governors' Away Day);
  • The Curriculum Monitoring and Financial Monitoring Committees will meet three times (once every term);
  • The Admissions Committee will meet twice (Spring and Summer terms);
  • The Pay and Headteacher's Appraisal Committees will meet once (late in the Autumn term).

Committee Membership

Curriculum Monitoring Committee

  • Camilla Aspinall (Chair)
  • Deborah Hogan
  • Helena Wojnowska
  • Ciara Sowrey
  • Sue Woodman
  • Nanda Manley-Browne
  • Francisco Orjales-Mourente
  • Dominic Malins
  • Father Giovanni Prandini
  • In attendance: Ruth Coyle (SLT)

Financial Monitoring Committee

  • Bronwen Gray (Chair)
  • Carolyne Timberlake
  • Benjamin Billiard
  • Francesca David
  • Piero Greco
  • David Richard
  • Paul Waite
  • Dominic Malins
  • In attendance: Paul Steward (SLT)

Admissions Committee

  • Sue Woodman (Chair)
  • Benjamin Billiard
  • Camilla Aspinall
  • Bronwen Gray
  • Dominic Malins
  • Headteacher's Appraisal Committee
  • Sue Woodman (Chair)
  • Piero Greco
  • Bronwen Gray

Pay Committee

  • Benjamin Billiard (Chair)
  • Piero Greco
  • Carolyne Timberlake
  • Francesca David
  • Bronwen Gray
  • In attendance: Paul Steward (SLT)


Full Board of Governors will meet on:

  • Monday, 13 September 2021 at 5:00pm
  • Monday, 29 November 2021 at 5:00pm
  • Monday, 25 April 2022 at 5:00 pm
  • Monday, 20 June 2022 at 5:00pm
  • Saturday, 13 November 2021 - Full Governing Board Away Day

Financial Monitoring Committee will meet on:

  • Monday, 22 November 2021 at 5:00pm
  • Monday, 21 March 2022 at 5:00pm
  • Monday, 23 May 2022 at 5:00pm

Curriculum Monitoring Committee will meet on:

  • Thursday, 11th November 2021 at 5:00pm
  • Monday, 7 March 2022 at 5:00pm
  • Monday, 16 May 2022 at 5:00pm

Admissions Committee will meet on:

  • Monday, 17 January 2022 at 5.00pm
  • Monday, 25 April 2022 at 4:15pm

Pay Committee will meet on 22 November 2021 at 4:15pm


Committees for 2021-22 are:

i. Financial Monitoring
ii. Curriculum monitoring
iii. Admissions
iv. Pay and Head Teacher’s Appraisal

i. To address any queries to any of the above Governors, please send all correspondence via Mrs A Love, Head of Administration, at the school.
ii. The Clerk to Governors is Clare Baskott, who can be contacted at

Governors who have left in the last 12 months:

  • Father Paul Kyne 7/12/2020 – 13/3/2021
  • David Wareham 25/03/2018 – 17/05/2021